Pride Month 2022: Part 1 Why March?

A Sexual Libra
4 min readJun 1, 2022

I’ve never been a big one for participating in pride month.

First, because when I was following my faith, I was critical of the theories and redefinition of our social, cultural norms.

While I’ve obviously taken a different path and am now intellectually and practically exploring my own nonconformity, I don’t see myself joining a parade anytime soon.

And it’s not shame or being closeted that would keep me from letting my freak flag fly. It’s not confusion or conflict either.

It’s that the whole thing just makes me roll my eyes.

I know, at first, pride months and flags were important as a matter of breaking free from the illegality of nonconformity and saying, “We’re here, we’re queer, we’re proud, and we’re not going to be illegal anymore.” I, also, understand that some still feel it’s important, and I understand the arguments as to why.

I just don’t share the feeling.

Because I’m me and, as I’ve written before, my whole life experience has been strength training in doing ‘me’ unapologetically.

If I were to have a sense of connectivity to the responsibilities of a community (as I’ve also written before, I generally don’t), my contribution would be:

--

--

A Sexual Libra

I’m happily, nonmonogamous/polyamorous. I’m, here, writing about my sexual journey through the Zodiac and open lifestyle. Thank you for reading and enjoy!