The Unicorn Experience: The Healthiest Messy Couple

A Sexual Libra
3 min readJan 6, 2022
Art commissioned from and made by my daughter

Recently my date with a couple, I was really looking forward to meeting, canceled, and I respect them a lot for it.

As the date approached, the male partner began to have intensified feelings of insecurity and they realized that they needed to slow down a bit before moving forward. They have work left to do for readiness.

She wrote the reasoning and the apologies, both nervous that I’d be put-off.

I wasn’t and I’m even more hopeful about the connection. They’re the kind of couple with whom I want to associate.

Anyone who tells you opening up with your partner is easy peasy is full of absolute shit. Even as easy and natural as my husband and I found it (largely because we didn’t have trust issues due to our hyper open and honest communication style and the security found in the integrity of our commitment to each other), we still walked into it carefully, talking about personal feelings of insecurity as they came up.

Ego, security, and trust issues, if there are any, will be challenged and magnified through openness. I HIGHLY recommend the book Polysecure: Attachment, Trauma and Consensual Nonmonogamy by Jessica Fern. While nonmonogamy produces opportunity for growth through experience, understanding your experience can be helped by reading/hearing the…

--

--

A Sexual Libra

I’m happily, nonmonogamous/polyamorous. I’m, here, writing about my sexual journey through the Zodiac and open lifestyle. Thank you for reading and enjoy!